top of page

Key Academic Links

UPSIGN (UK Pakistan Science and Innovation Global Network)  has strong links with academics in universities in the UK, Pakistan and overseas. Stemming from its membership of 250 educated professionals globally, who are dedicated to raising awareness and develop solutions to tackle various social and economic challenges that are faced by people of Pakistani origin in Pakistan and UK. 

Below is a list of universities/organisations where our key members are based who are actively working in Pakistan and UK in support of UPSIGN's objectives

University College London (UCL)

University College London is one of our core sponsors that fund the secretariat and is the location of our UPSIGN head office.

Rothamsted Research

UPSIGN's Deputy Chairman and Agri-Nutrition co-lead, Dr Khalid Mahmood is the Innovation and Partnership Manager for Sustainable Agricultural Sciences

University of Lancaster

UPSIGN's Healthcare co-lead, Professor Ihtesham Rehman is a professor at this institution. Lancaster University have partnered with UPSIGN to train in bio-medical material science. 

University of Sheffield 

UPSIGN's Healthcare co-lead, Professor Parveen Ali works as a Senior Lecturer at the University of Sheffield.

University of Swansea

UPSIGN's Agriculture & Nutrition co-lead. Professor Tariq Butt, leads the Biocontrol and Natural Products (BANP) group at Swansea University of which has produced research vital to UPSIGN's work. 

University of Leicester

UPSIGN's lead on Artificial Intelligence, Professor Ashiq Anjum is a Professor of Distributed systems.

COMSATS University Islamabad (Lahore campus)

They are UPSIGN's local partners in Pakistan, which includes the IRCBM. They have supported many of our workshops

rothamsteed research.png
uni sheffield.jpg
swansea uni.png
uni of leicester.png
COMSATS uni.png

Below is a list of universities where academics are from who are supporting UPSIGN initiatives (this list is not exhaustive)

  • Canterbury Christ Church University

  • CABI (Centre for Agriculture and Bioscience International)

  • Harper Adams University

  • Natural Resources Institute (part of University of Greenwich)

  • Dow University

  • Khyber Medical University

  • Manchester University

  • Manchester Metropolitan University

  • National Institute of Agricultural Botany

  • Newcastle University

  • The Pirbright Institute

  • Northumbria University

  • University of Central Lancashire

  • University of Cranfield

  • University of Edinburgh

  • University of Leeds

  • University of Plymouth

  • University of Warwick

  • LUMS (Lahore University of Management Sciences)

  • MNS UET Multan (Muhammad Nawaz Sharif University of Engineering & Technology)

  • PMAS-Arid Agriculture University, Rawalpindi (Pir Mehr Ali Shah Arid Agriculture University)

  • University of Agriculture, Faisalabad

  • University of Exeter

  • University of the Punjab

  • University of Sargodha

  • UVAS (University of Veterinary and Animal sciences)


An UPSIGN membership is free and there are two levels of membership:

1. Ordinary Member (on newsletter mailing list) 

2 Active Volunteer member (involved in delivering our objectives) 


Click here to read more about becoming an UPSIGN member. 

bottom of page